CSA announces Proteas contract squad for 2018/19

March 8, 2018

Cricket South Africa (CSA) today announced the Standard Bank Proteas Men’s squad to be awarded national contracts for the 2018-19 season. The contracts cover the bilateral tours away to Sri Lanka and Australia as well as the home series against Zimbabwe, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, finishing with the 2019 edition of the ICC World Cup to be played in England and Wales.

First-time national contracts have been awarded to Aiden Markram and Lungi Ngidi who have both made their international debuts during the course of the previous contract year.

“We made an exception last year in increasing the number of contracted players to 21 but this year we are comfortable that the normal standard number of 18 will be appropriate to maintain our national squads across all three formats,” commented CSA Acting Chief Executive, Thabang Moroe. “This enables us to contract both our Test players as well as those who are limited overs specialists.

“Aiden and Lungi have both made an immediate impact on the international scene and this is a continuation of our policy of having a strong squad with a good mix of young and experienced world-class stars,” added Mr Moroe.

CSA contracted Proteas players: Hashim Amla (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Temba Bavuma (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Quinton de Kock (Multiply Titans), AB de Villiers (Multiply Titans), JP Duminy (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Multiply Titans), Dean Elgar (Multiply Titans), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Multiply Titans), David Miller (VKB Knights), Chris Morris (Multiply Titans), Lungi Ngidi (Multiply Titans), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Vernon Philander (World Ssports Betting Cape Cobras), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Multiply Titans), Dale Steyn (Multiply Titans)