Janneman Malan, opening batsman of the World Sports Betting Cape Cobras, and Quinton de Kock performed admirably as an opening pair during the Mzansi Super League and played a mammoth role in propelling the Blitz to the final at PPC Newlands on Sunday 16th December.

They produced a stunning 105-run opening stand against the Paarl Rocks on Friday 7th December. The pair have formed an excellent combination at the top of the order for the Blitz in this tournament, setting up away wins against the Jozi Stars and Tshwane Spartans with opening stands of 99 and 83, respectively. They were even more devastating under Friday night’s lights, blitzing to a century opening stand at 10 runs an over.

Malan and Kyle Verreynne were the top-performing World Sports Betting Cape Cobras players in the Cape Town Blitz side that were comprehensively outplayed by the Jozi Stars on Tuesday 4th December.

The Stars won by 50 runs. Malan struck 43 off 37 balls with a boundary count of six fours, while Verreynne produced 25 off only 11 deliveries. He struck two fours and a six.

In the 21st match between the Tshwane Spartans and the Paarl Rocks, the Spartans won by 4 wickets.

Rory Kleinveldt, all-rounder of the World Sports Betting Cape Cobras, kept the Rocks scoreboard static by conceding only 11 runs in three overs for the Spartans.

Vernon Philander, plying his trade for the Durban Heat, conceded 13 runs in two overs in the Mzansi Super League’s 22nd match against the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants. The game was washed out with the Giants on 121 for two after 13.3 overs.

The Jozi Stars beat the hapless Durban Heat by one wicket on Friday 7th December. Tladi Bokako produced reasonable figures of 1-31 in his allotted four overs, but could not prevent the Stars from winning by one wicket.

Lizaad Williams accounted for the wicket of Andrea Agathangelou for 5 in the match between the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants and the Tshwane Spartans that was won by the latter by 28 runs. The fast bowler of the World Sports Betting Cape Cobras finished with 1-15 but could not keep the Pretoria-based team from a fairly comprehensive win.

The Cape Town Blitz qualified for the home final on Sunday 16th December at PPC Newlands, despite a slightly deflating six-wicket loss against the Durban Heat on Sunday 9th December. Six members of the Blitz squad are also members of the World Sports Betting Cape Cobras squad.